Yes, it's true, I'll admit it; my family refers to my little brother - who, at the ripe old age of seventeen is not so very little these days - as Stevo-Man. It is a term of endearment, perhaps tracing back to "Enchilada Man", his nickname when he would roll himself up in his blankets over and over, while asleep as a child. This past Saturday through Wednesday morning, I was lucky enough to get to spend some quality time with Stevo.
Stevo was out in Los Angeles for debate camp at UCLA, with a highly prestigious group known as "Victory Briefs" (aka, triumphant tighty-whities; forgive the chuckling). When I picked Stevo up on Saturday morning at 7:30am to abduct him for Saturday morning beach yoga, he was exhausted. Listening to him describe his schedule over the previous three weeks, during which time he had slept very little and written very much, not to mention the fact that he has been running around all summer, it was no surprise he was this "whooped". "Welcome to college, kiddo," I remarked. "What you experienced over the last three weeks is what you have in store for four years of college after next May. Enjoy your senior year of high school!"
We drove out to Malibu, where the weather was overcast, found a parking space by some miracle, and set up our yoga gear out on the pier. Then we proceeded to do an hour and a half of Vinyasa Yoga, Stevo's first-ever yoga class. Even though he had only gotten three hours of sleep the night before, and even though his body was not used to many of the asanas, or postures, Stevo kept on breathing and did the entire class. :) After we practically sprinted to the free breakfast line after class (per my instructions), Stevo even admitted that he enjoyed the class, and said that it was harder than he had expected, but very relaxing. (My next goal is to get my mom and dad to come try some yoga with me!) As we enjoyed our fruit salad, exceptionally tasty orange juice, mini blueberry muffins, ad bagels, I grinned at being able to relax and catch up with my little brother at a pier on the beach in California.
After we stopped off to buy some groceries for the next few days, we made it home, where Stevo proceeded to sleep from 1:30-10:30pm, when I arrived home from work. Panicking when I saw my apartment lights still off, I was convinced I was going to find a dead body inside of my apartment. I knocked on the screen door, and called out, "Steve?!" A grumble followed by someone stumbling onto the floor relieved my fear and made it obvious that no murder victim would be found here (only a narcoleptic teenager).
Sunday morning, Stevo and I visited the Hollywood farmer's market, where I get my produce each Sunday. We explored all of the booths, as I handed Stevo sample after sample of white peaches, sweet, juicy pluots, delicious melons, bright red grapes, and other assorted heavenly produce. Our favorite find by far was one of the hot food booths. A little Thai booth sold sweet sticky rice with banana for $1 apiece. We bought one to share, and it came wrapped in a large palm leaf that was secured with toothpicks. After devouring our shared treasure, we had to go back for two more before we headed back to the car. Even though I never cook rice for myself at home, I may have to treat myself to these little delicacies on my Sunday shopping runs from now on.
Sunday afternoon was spent preparing for the monthly potluck - this time, themed "Hawaiin Luau" - set for Sunday evening. Stevo helped me clean the apartment, as I made Apple Walnut Rice and Citrus Chicken for the evening. The Potluck itself was, as always, a nice chance to sit down with friends, share wonderful food, listen to relaxing music, and chat. Once the potluck wrapped up around 11pm, I was overjoyed to discover that Yogurtland is open until midnight. Frozen Yogurt in California is sort of like a rite of passage, and Yogurtland is the best of the best, so Stevo simply had to try it before he headed back home to Houston. So saying, we set off for Yogurtland, only a mile away.
Of course, as luck would have it, a fun, lighthearted, late-night froyo run was where I was first pulled over in my entire life. As I prepared to turn left into the Yogurtland lot, following another car in front of me doing the same thing, a van in the parking lot began backing up (painfully slow). As we waited to turn in, the oncoming traffic got closer and closer, at which point I began backing up to get out of the way of traffic. Just as I started backing up, red and blue lights flashed directly in front of me, and a very angry cop shouted "PULL OVER!" out of his window. With Stevo in the car, I pulled over, fighting back tears and very much confused. It turns out that I had been trying to turn left over a double yellow line (just before the actual turning lane). I explained to the trooper what had happened, still trying not to cry. I think he felt bad about how upset I was, and I felt stupid for being so upset, but c'est la vie. He ended up letting me off with a warning, and I also have to go in to prove my car is registered, as I had taken my registration out of my car to fax a copy to my bank earlier in the week. As I started the car to drive away, I started sobbing, at which point Stevo remarked, "don't freak out, you didn't even get a ticket! It's okay. But if it had been a dude, he totally would have given him the ticket. You're lucky you're a girl and can just cry." Needless to say, crying was an involuntary action, but I suppose it proved worthwhile. Note to all of my actors out there. Well, at least the ladies. Our frozen yogurt was delicious regardless, and Stevo is now a Yogurtland convert. Thank you, cookies and cream frozen yogurt and cookie dough.
Monday we took it easy and slept in, which both of us needed. We went to Zeke's that evening for my "complimentary meal", which I had saved from my training week until my brother arrived to split it with me. We barely finished half of our sweet potato fries, ribs, brisket, chicken, sausage, beans, and potato salad - quite a feast, I'll admit, but not over-the-top for two people, as far as portions are concerned. We ended up taking the rest of the meal home with us and finishing it up on Tuesday, as a scrumptious BBQ chicken salad.
Tuesday we went to see "Toy Story 3", which I found to be a very heartwarming and clever movie. After sneaking into "Dinner for Schmucks" afterward, which is an entirely random (albeit goofy) movie, I have to just say how much I admire and respect movies today which are clever in both writing and nuance. Although I recognize the shift toward "random humor" reflects my own generation's parallel shift, I, for one, would rather see a movie which took creativity and genuine wit to manifest. Thank you, Pixar, for continuing to impress. Tuesday evening, we went back to Yogurtland for round two (and that night's dinner), which was not in the least healthy (maybe the lychee was?), but absolutely delicious and amazing. We ended the night eating froyo on my bed and watching "Gladiator", which Stevo lasted through for approximately ten minutes.
Although I was very sad to leave Stevo at LAX early on Wednesday morning, as I feel lonely out here on the golden coast, I was and will always be so grateful to be blessed with such incredible siblings. My brother and sister are my world; I would do anything for either of them at the drop of a pin. (My parents aren't so bad themselves and, as a favorite teacher once said, "they may be crazy, but they did something right, because they have three great kids." Aw shucks.) I am counting down the days until October, when I can be with my family again.
OH. And I suppose that brings up the announcement that I will be home in October for my grandparents' fiftieth wedding anniversary, which I am so happy for and proud of. So mark your calendars, all you Texans - I'm a comin'!
And with that, I'm off to sleep. Important audition tomorrow (updates to follow, pending successful audition!). Ciao!
Break A Leg!!! On your audition.
ReplyDeleteHops to see you in October!
Thanks, Mark! :) Hopefully we can say hi in October. Depending on where I'm at, I'll let you know when I'm in Richmond.
ReplyDeleteAddendum from the Mommy Bird regarding the name "Enchilada Man":
ReplyDelete"Your blog is close. The origin dates back to when I used to wake him up in the morning, shaking and rolling him to try to get him awake, which is still impossible. To make it a sort of a game, I'd roll him around and around in the covers and yell, 'ENCHILADA MAAAN!!!' until he laughed so hard he had to wake up.
(PS this doesn't work anymore. I mean I can still do it, but he's more likely to deck me than to laugh. No sense of humor anymore).
luv, mummy."
:) :)